Cumin Lentil Pate

3 (of the many) fantastic reasons to eat lentils.

  • Gram for gram, more protein than beef. And you get some good cattle karma points in addition :)  They have three times as much protein when eaten raw (sprouted).
  • Full of fibre, but practically free from fats: in other words, they fill you up, not out.  :)
  • Rich in folate which helps the breakdown of homocysteine. This is an amino acid which damages artery walls and is associated with heart disease. Happily, the body automatically breaks it down into two benign compounds, but it can only be broken down in the presence of certain nutrients, notably B6, and folate.

Plus, they are cheap, cute, green and make you feel all Mediterranean when you eat them.  This pate is made with canned green lentils for laziness’  convenience’ sake. It’s salty, and full of cumin, just how I like it. You could reduce or eliminate the salt for a great weaning dip/spread.

Important note: While I love food, I am no foodie.I have only made this once, and shared it with my friend, and it received two Seals of Approval (well, four, if you count our little ones, which of course, we do) However, all I did was throw some stuff into the mini chopper until I liked the taste. I have no idea, for example, if the olive oil adds anything in terms of flavour or texture; I don’t really know why I added balsamic and lemon juice….I just tossed it all in with a smile. So if you don’t have all the ingredients, just play around with fat/ saltiness/ herbs/ spices etc until you like the flavour and texture.

Cumin Lentil Pate

  • 2 cups of cooked green lentils (equals one can, rinsed well)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

Serve with any of the following:

  • raw vegetables
  • oatcakes
  • green wraps
  • crusty wholegrain bread with roasted peppers on top
  • In a wholewheat pitta bread with salad and sprouts

    Oh, the greyness... :(

On a sad note: cooked, pureed lentils look an unappetising grey. I never knew that until today, and I was pretty gutted. Like a mushroom pate, only more insipid looking. However, it tastes great. I assure you. Cross my heart and hope to die  live a long and healthy, abundant life. With plenty of lentils, of course.

Leave a Reply

