Sprouted Wheat Cinnamon Cereal

I am a great lover of cinnamon, but not a great lover of sprouted wheat. My head loves sprouted wheat, I mean, what’s not to love about these little babies, when you sprout them, their nutritional value explodes. Attention:

Research undertaken at the University of Minnesota, USA, showed that at 3 days of sprouting, much of the original carbohydrate is converted to natural sugars, making it less mucus forming. During the 3 days of sprouting, the antioxiadant vitamin E content can increase 300%, vitamin C increase 600%, and the B vitamins have been found to increase from 20% to 1200%, with B17, the ‘anti-cancer vitamin’ 100% more than in unsprouted seed. The protein content increases by 300% in the third day of sprouting, compared to the unsprouted wheat seed.

Hungarian doctors have developed a potentially effective medicine against cancer known as Avemar This drug is made from….no kidding….wheat sprout extract and apparently in animal research it has been proven effective in preventing the occurrence of metastasis in cancer cells.

Nevertheless, I don’t find them that tasty, they’re just….alright, and I think it’s against the rules to eat something you do not really enjoy “just because it’s good for you”….So, having said all that, for some reason, once in a while I sprout a small handful of wheat……ok, let’s see….nope, still don’t really like it….until I was sent this recipe by Karen Knowler, and in return for using her wonderful recipe, here comes her shameless plug; Karen is known as “The Raw Food Coach”  and publishes “Successfully Raw” – a free weekly eZine for raw food lovers . If you’re ready to look good, feel great and create a raw life you love get your FREE tips, tools and recipes now here. (note from me: When you sign up for her newsletter you get a fantastic free e-book called “Go Raw for a Day”)

So….It is actually a recipe for Essene bread. But when I tasted it, I liked it so much that I did not bother even dehydrating it into bread; I chopped it with some banana  and some almond milk and enjoyed it as is…or rather, Was. With my head, AND my palate. And it only has 3 ingredients; now, my cup runneth o’er! Read on.

I normally eat my sprouts after 48 hours of sprouting because from then on they feel a little hairy, and that just seems…wrong….(though I do like alfalfa sprouts which definitely score highly on a scale of one to hairy) So, I may not have quite as many zeros on my nutritional info as the University of Minnesota, but I can live with that.

If you have never sprouted grains/seeds/beans before, it is very easy, and there is lots of information online. I shall write a post on it at a later date due to current time constraints.

Take your itty- bitty sprouted wheat berries , and remember this is LIVE food, it is still alive and still growing and is packed ful of nutrients and enzymes….and begin.

  • 1 cup wheat sprouts (a scant 1/2 cup dry wheat will become about a cup of sprouted wheat)
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Put into your food processor, (for these quantities, a standard food processor may be too large. I use a Mini Chopper and think no kitchen should be without one) and blitz until the raisins are pulverized and the grains are somewhat broken down (I like a bit of texture). Please note, this really does not taste raisin-ey, or sprout-ey….it does, however, taste cinnamon-ey. I just thought I’d say.

Add chopped banana, cold Almond milk (for example) and some chopped pecans if desired, and above all, enjoy!

photo soon………..

P.S. Following my joyful discovery of cinnamon wheat sprout cereal, I began to see wheat sprouts in a new light, and am looking for new ways to genuinely enjoy them. You can cook wheat berries, as an alternative grain in cooked meals, but once sprouted, I would certainly not eat them any way but raw, why would you annihilate all of those wonderful vitamins??Any suggestions welcome.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Good for you food should taste good too! Thanks for this simple recipe–always looking for new breakfast ideas.

    Reply

  2. wow, thanks for the lightning fast comment! I am still putting this blog together and just wrote this post as a try-out for my recipe menu (still under construction!) Hope you enjoy 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by carlos9900 on May 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    So how do you sprout it? I’m willing to try it, but don’t really know how. Sounds yummy though!

    Reply

  4. Hi carlos! 🙂 I plan to do a post on it sometime, I have only just started this blog. Obviously you can google, for more detailed info, but it’s really simple. Soak the wheat berries overnight. Drain. then leave them covered, and every 8 hours give them a rinse, and a drain. (basically, morning and evening) You just need to make sure they are moist, but not sitting in excess water. (If it is a hot day, you may not to rinse and drain during the day once.)
    I like them after 48 hours. Not too much root/sprout. I am putting another recipe on soon using baby wheat sprouts. I will be checking on your blog soon for updates! Thanks for commenting.

    Reply

  5. Hi Beth, actually it’s Sarah. I can’t imagine Carlos taking an initiative with sprouting:) Thanks so much for the info… I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Reply

  6. Subsequent to this post I have now found a love for sprouted wheat berries.I just thought I would say…….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

