Spinach and strawberry salad

This was introduced to me by a good friend, for which I thank her. I believe she may be reading this now. If so, thanks Donna!

I would never have thought to put these two together in a salad but for me, it works wonderfully. Enjoy!

6 cups of roughly torn leaf spinach (about 1lb or 1/2 a kilo) and 2 cups of strawberries, sliced.  If you are feeding quite a few people, then do the full quantity. I did one third the quantity, 150 grams spinach and 2/3 cups sliced strawberries which was only 6-7 small/medium strawberries. Having eaten it i wish I had made more! You really do not have to get your measuring cups out for this.These are leaves, and strawberries,people. Just mix it all up, adding sliced strawberries until you are happy with the ratio.

DRESSING

  • 2T apple cider  (or white wine)vinegar 
  • 1 1/2 t sesame seeds
  • 3/4 t poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2 t extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 t red onion, finely chopped (or more, to taste)
  • 1/4 t paprika
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/4 cup honey

Put all ingredients into a jar (lidded!) and shake well, add to salad. If you make the dresing beforehand as I did, the sesame seeds look a little sorry, so I garnished with fresh ones, liberally.  The longer you leave the salad, obviously, the more the spinach will wilt down, so it’s up to you. I ate it immediately.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] Crunch! ← The Easiest Strawberry Ice Lollies in the World Spinach and strawberry salad → […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tiffany on May 8, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I like to make a similar dressing, I make it a day in advance and then the flavors of the onion honey pop out a bit more. If you’re short on strawberries try adding some fresh pineapple, mango and/or avocado. I love it when the salad is the most looked forward to part of dinner.

    Reply

  3. I will definitely try that variation Tiffany!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

