Smoky walnut pate

Sometimes you just need a new spreadalicious experience, and so, this pate was born. It is made of ingredients that I generally always have on hand, and it is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS.

A word on sundried tomatoes. These are great to have in your store cupboard and I use them in quite a few things. Go for the ones that are simply tomatoes, dried in the sun with salt, not the ones in jars with lots of other less-than-desirables. They are quite leathery before soaking, and keep for ages. You could keep one bag in the cupboard, and soak the contents of another bag in extra virgin olive oil in the fridge. that way you always have  nice soft EVOO-esque ones for raw tomato sauces and other creations.

Note: You may as well soak your walnuts alongside your sundried tomatoes, overnight, or a few hours before you whizz this up.

Smoky walnut pate

  • 1 cup of walnut pieces (or pecans.You will not regret using pecans)
  • 4-6 sundried tomato halves*. (I guess, if you have a less salty palate, try using 4, or if your red bell pepper is  small, use less also, so the sweetness and saltiness balance.)

COMBINE WELL in food processor/chopper, then add:

  • 2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 t smoked paprika
  • 1 red bell pepper, quite well chopped

Whizz until it is silky smooth and all the red pepper is homogenised. Be patient, and stop periodically if needbe to scrape down the sides or give it a bit of a mix so all the chunks are “caught”.  This is SO GOOD. I am quite blown away by the fact that I made it up, every time I eat it!

I hope someone enjoys this, and I am more than happy to hear suggestions for tweaks from all you creative foodies out there who are more in touch with their palates than me!

*A short P.S. on quantities. I have to say that these quantities may not be suitable for a regular food processor; these are the quantities I use in my mini chopper which is more of a one portion thing. Depending on your food processor these quantities may need to be adjusted. Personally I think that even if you have a large machine, a mini chopper is so useful for small food processing jobs and it is so inexpensive, at least, here in the UK, it is about £16-£18. Happy blitzing.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on September 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    This is truly delicious Beth, thank you for sharing 🙂 x

    Reply

  2. You are welcome. I love sharing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on August 3, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Hi! Made this this A.M. Anna has started kindergarten and I refuse to send her lunch meat sandwiches everyday. My easy option would be cheese sandwiches, but that gets boring pretty fast, so, I’m into exploring other spreads. This dip combines nicely on a sandwich or cracker with goat cheese in my opinion.

    My big machine required I do a double batch and I used a 50/50 mix of walnuts and pecans. I love the sweetness of the pecans! I also added a very small red onion. Plan to eat for dinner with home baked whole wheat pita chips and veggies. Thanks for the recipe! Yummy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sarah on August 3, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Oh, do you think you can freeze portions of this?

    Reply

    • You can definitely freeze it, i think the oil will separate a little (like with hummous if you have ever frozen that) but just give it a stir. I am so glad you enjoy. I love this recipe and it was my own creation, with various try-outs before perfection was reached (in my opinion!) I love seeing it enjoyed by others. Will def try your tweaks 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

