A horrifying realisation, and Peanut Butter Cups

I was filled with a kind of horror last night when I realised…(I am pretty slow- it has taken me a month)….I have turned into someone who photographs her lunch! And here’s the worst…..I don’t want to stop doing it, either! I used to find it highly irritating to find people doing these “Hey, you want to know what I ate today?” And now I am doing it. Kind of….Though I like to think I put a different slant on it, but you know what? Maybe I am kidding myself.

My “About” section is pretty sketchy. I just started this as a way of waxing lyrical about the food I enjoy, without having to directly irritate people I know by doing so. Thankfully I have two or three people in my life that allow me to get poetical about the things I have discovered, and they happily share in my ardour. But not wanting to overstep the mark, I decided to start this blog.

While I confess that I do look at the stats, and I like to get a comment, I mainly use this is a way to:

  • Express myself. Sometimes I just eat something that I love and feel the need to share it. Albeit with a screen. Sad, I know.
  • Record plant-based recipes that have been successful with all, most, or even just one member of the household. That’s because I am sick of scraps of paper, and this is as good as index cards, and I can put photos in.
  • Pass it on….I would love to think that even once in a while, someone will try some of this stuff, or similar things, instead of some of the junk that is out there, and enjoy it. Or make some changes which help their health and well-being.

So there it is. And here is a quick recipe. A big hit with my peanut butter loving daughter. The chocolate is my version made with honey and coconut oil. Did I mention my peanut-butter-loving daughter “HATES coconut”? She loves this chocolate though, so it can’t taste too overpoweringly of coconut. If you were not into peanuts, fill with raw almond butter or cashew butter. They are mini, like my Bounty Bar Bites. And full of coconut oil goodness, ditto ditto.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mini Peanut Butter Cups (makes 10-12)

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, room temperature (abt 30g)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa or cacao powder (abt 15-20g)
  • 1/4 cup unpasteurised honey  (abt 50g)

Then, for the filling…..

  • 1/4 cup no added sugar/salt peanut butter (or alternative nut butter)
  • 2 pinches coarse sea salt, slightly crushed
  •  1teaspoon unpasteurised honey (for the filling). Or was it 1Tablespoon? Great. I’ve lost my card. Just taste test. Depends how sweet you like it.

Instructions

  • Melt the coconut oil in a bowl, placed in a pan of hot water
  • Once melted, with the bowl still in the pan to keep it warm, add the cocoa powder and the 1/4 cup of honey, and salt. Stir well, because the honey will sink down to the bottom of the coconut oil
  • Using a teaspoon, cover the bases of 10 mini silicone cases with the chocolate mixture
  • Put in freezer for 10-15 minutes
  • Meanwhile, keep your pan of chocolate mixture covered with a lid so it doesn’t set
  • Mix 1/4 cup of nut butter, with the honey and crushed sea salt.
  • Remove your chocolate bases. They should be firm enough to continue.
  • Take small balls of the filling, and using slightly damp fingers, flatten into a plump little disc shape on top of the bases.
  • When all your mixture is divided up, use the remaining chocolate mixture to cover the nut butter filling.
  • Chill in the fridge…….or freezer, if you are very impatient.

As previously mentioned, coconut oil is hard in the fridge, but pretty soft when left out. Failure to keep refridgerated will result peanut butter cups of a spoonable texture. Just so you know.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Melisa on February 16, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I have almost dribbled on the keyboard seeing the photo of my favourite of your treats! They are better than Reeces Cup’s, becuase you know they are the healthier version you can eat twice as many! Yum

    Reply

Leave a Reply

