Green Goddess Lemon Smoothie :)

Oh my goodness! The alarm clock: friend and foe. It felt like an authentic foe this morning, but I conquered self and got up, and could not be happier once I was up and out with the sun on my face. So much better than sleep! And since I had conquered myself, well, in a miniscule sense of the word, in one tiny portion of time, I decided to give myself a prize of an extra massive drink. And this, my friends, is so good!

I know the juicing craze is out there. And I am sold on the benefits of juicing. I saw amazing things happen when my husband went medication-free and just juiced for about 4-5 days.  Juices are totally refreshing and your body gets a huge flush of the vitamins and minerals and phytochemicals in record time, because it is digested really fast. But hey….as a general rule, what’s the hurry? And I do hate to take all that fibre out. I mean, that’s how the plant grew, and that’s how I like to eat it. Or drink it. Plus, a blender is way easier to clean than a juicer. This recipe makes about 1 litre (almost 2 of the glasses in the picture) So….

  • 125 mls water
  • 1/2 a ripe pineapple
  • 1/2 a cucumber, washed but not peeled
  • 1 whole lemon, peeled, and de-seeded.
  • A small piece of the lemon peel aswell if the lemon is organic/unwaxed
  • 2 handfuls of leafy greens.

Blend, blend, blend. Glass. Straw. Schluuurp.

This is kinda-sweet-kinda-tart. If you like it a little sweeter, you could add more pineapple, or a sweet apple.Or even a handful of frozen strawberries. Feel that chlorophyll power.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

