Friday Night cabbage..or…Kale chips

Once I was talking to my brother about snacks and the like, and- I forget where the conversation was going, or in what context, but he said, drily (or is it wrily? sarcastically? someone get me a dictionary!)…he said “Oh yes, we love a bit of cabbage on a Friday night”.

I had a little (inner) chuckle, and I thought- “Should I tell him what I was eating with my friend last Friday night?” I didn’t. I thought it would take too long to explain and he was on his way to work. So I dedicate this post to my brother Seth. This, Seth, is my Friday Night Cabbage. And it’s Really. Really. Good! And I am not the only person who thinks so. I’m just saying.

I actually cannot even put into words how good this tastes. And it’s dehydrated cabbage. And it’s awesome. For real. Do my kids eat it? No. Steady on! Not yet, anyway….But that’s ok… All the more for me.

Drying Methods:  These are done in a food dehydrator. I have a food dehydrator (I know). You just leave it running overnight, or during the day and take them out when crispy. You can do them in the oven; either by using your oven almost like a dehydrator, on a very low heat, or on a full heat, watching very carefully so they do not burn. However, I have never done it, and I have it on good authority from two friends who tried this in their oven that they turned into a brown soggy mass of unappetising….something not very appetising. I would look up specific recipes online for BAKED kale chips if you plan to try this. I will post some links at the bottom of the post for the oven version. 

 Dehydrated “I can’t believe dried cabbage tastes this good” Cheesey Kale Chips

(Yes, this is quite a decadent recipe, with one cup of nuts. It is so worth it. You can do far lower fat versions, with just a bit of extra virgin olive oil, a very little, and spices of your choice.)

  • 1 cup cashew and/or brazil nuts
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 yellow bell pepper (optional)
  • 1 t turmeric (optional).
  • 1 clove garlic.
  • 1 t onion powder. 
  •  1/3 cup Nutritional yeast (for your cheese flavour)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 200g kale.

Remove the very thick tough stalks from your kale leaves.

Blend everything except the kale in a blender till you have a silky smooth yellow creamy, cheese tasting mixture. Try not to eat it all with a spoon. Massage it well into the leaves. Dehydrate until crispy. Eat, and weep for joy. (Definitely NOT to be eaten in public. Check your teeth well after eating! )

(It does make lots more than this)

Oven Issues. The problem with an oven is that it is going to brown and burn the leaves before they have a chance to dry out. In particular, this marinade, because it is very wet, and the salt has drawn out the liquid from the leaves and they basically steam-burn instead of drying out into crispy green heavenly deliciousness. I repeat, I have never done it, but plenty of people do baked versions, so here are some links. For a very basic version, use 1Tablespoon of olive oil to about 100g kale, plus salt/spices of your choice. 

You have got to love this stuff.

Dry it, blend it, steam it, eat it raw……eat kale! A Truly Super Food.

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. Fab recipe Beth, I’m a real kale chip addict! Can’t be beaten as the ultimate snack!!! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

