Chocolate Macadamia Truffles (and a chat about fat)

Someone made a slightly disparaging comment to me recently about how it was obvious I could never relax for fear of gaining a gram. Years ago I felt a real fear of gaining weight; it’s not a nice place to be in, and I am sure many people know what I am talking about.

I haven’t felt like that for a long time, and when I say “no thank you” to a “treat” or pass by them in the shop, it’s certainly not because I am gritting my teeth thinking about the calories. Apart from anything else, “one treat” will not make you gain weight.

It’s either because I genuinely don’t want to eat it anymore, or on occasion, I may feel like it, but normally (almost always! 🙂 ) I choose not to, not for the sake of my hips, but for my cardiovascular system. I love it, it’s mine, and I want it to last for many, many, many years. I want it to work efficiently, not drag itself along puffing and panting.

 I really don’t shy away from fat per se. I eat it daily, and some days, in abundance. But I choose fats that I consider will not harm, and even benefit my heart and arteries, and the rest of the body. Fats like avocados, unroasted nuts and seeds, coconut and olive oil , to name some. Plus, I love the aforementioned foods, and they do far more for our organism than just provide us with healthy fats.

So I just had to express that, if only for myself. On that note, here are some truffles I made the other day which we all enjoyed here. These are so heavenly, and are free from fats which will harm your arteries: Bonus!  These are RICH, and though macadamia nuts have been shown to reduce levels of harmful cholesterol known as LDL cholesterol, eating one cup of them will almost definitely give you a stomachache. So share, share,share.

Note: Dried dates are a more concentrated sugar form than fresh dates. I used dried dates because it was all I had in, but generally fresh dates would be better. I am not sure if quantities would alter if you used fresh dates, but it’s just how sweet you like it, so just taste-test.

You need a mini chopper or small food processor, of course 🙂

  • 1 cup macadamia Nuts (100g)
  • 1 cup chopped dried dates (100g) Unsoaked or very slightly soaked.
  • 1/4t salt
  • 3/8 cup of unpasteurised honey or maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons unsweeetened cocoa/cacao powder  (2T if you like your chocolate bitter)
  • Your choice of something to roll your finished truffles in. (I used a mixture of ground cashews and ground cacao nibs, a random little ingredient I once bought for £1.50 in an organic store.)

First process the nuts for a couple of minutes until they become a nut butter. Macadamias are the fattiest nut and this will happen very quickly. Add all other ingredients and process well until completely homogenised. You may need to scrape it down occasionally, and it will take a few minutes. Be patient. After a time you will behold a glorious chocolate-frosting-type mixture with a wonderful glistening sheen! That’s the fat 🙂  It’s alright. It is good healthy fat. Just don’t eat it all day 🙂

This will be quite soft now, so place in the fridge (or freezer, for quickness) until firm. In the fridge it should take 30-60 minutes. Roll into little balls and roll in chopped nuts, or dried coconut or whatever you want.

 I am not sure how many I made, maybe about 14?  I laid aside half the mixture and froze it in a block for another time; maybe I just couldn’t get over that sheen…. Albeit healthy fat, I thought it best to spread the cholesterol-lowering joys over a week or two. A remnant of my fat-o-phobic years? Possibly. Some things must run deep 🙂

Still. They were silky smooth in texture (it’s that fat again!) and really delicious. Approved by the grown-ups and 2/3 of the children in the household, and I wasn’t expecting Ellie to approve them anyway as she is not big on chocolate flavours most of the time.

If you try this, I hope you enjoy them.There is no photo, but hey, we have all seen little chocolate truffles before anyway.  I bet they are delicious with orange zest/essence, or mint. Unpasteurised honey is better for your health but maple syrup is probably nicer-tasting in this recipe 🙂

Be smart and get creative and you will be able to find treats that are made from beneficial fats and more natural sugars that still hit that craving. It’s not about deprivation, it’s about abundance 🙂 Wishing you a happy day, abundant in every sense of the word. x

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Asp on July 12, 2011 at 5:08 am

    They’ll always be people who intentionally misunderstand our motivations most likely in your case because you look amazing and radiate good health so therefore they are jealous. I’m enjoying reading about your lifestyle and am feeling inspired to take better care of myself. I started the journey by losing some weight after having Oliver but as you know it’s not really about that. Thanks for sharing your recipes and insights.

    Reply

  2. Thanks so much for your kind words sarah!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Melisa on February 16, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    You are a picture of health and your skin shines like the skin of a mango- with a slight blush. Surely that is proof that you are putting the right stuff in! I’m working on it! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

