Breakfast-Worthy Banana Bread

Hooray! A banana bread with no animal fats and NO refined sugar! This is not a banana CAKE, that is very sweet, but it has a subtle natural sweetness. If you like a sweeter touch, spread it with something, we had it with nut butter and a smearing (or smidgin if you prefer…or indeed, a droozle) of honey.

 Thank you very much One Frugal Foodie blogger a.k.a  Alisa Fleming for this recipe, which is being re-posted with her permission.  Alisa founded   www.godairyfree.org  and has a book of delicious dairy-free recipes which you can purchase here (on Amazon; I am not getting any money from any affiliates scheme by the way. I hear the book is great! She has 67 reviews on the US Amazon and 66 are 5 stars, 1 is 4 star) Her original post and recipe is on her blog “One Frugal Foodie” here.

Notes:

  • This is a vegan recipe, it does not use eggs. It is bound with omega-3-rich ground  golden linseeds aka flax seeds, which are available in most large supermarkets and all health food stores. (Of course, if you are not bothered, go ahead and use 1-2 eggs. I used flax seeds here.)
  • Of course, you need your bananas very speckledy and sweet. 3-4, depending on the size. Once mashed they should be about 2 measuring cups full.
  • If you wanted it sweeter by adding some maple syrup or honey for example, I am not sure if you would need to tweak the liquid. I am not much of a baker. If you return to the original recipe link above, the author is really good at responding. I would have thought a couple of Tablespoons of liquid sweetener wouldn’t alter the texture or cooking time much. 

Come, let us bake then.

Pre-heat oven t0 175 C  and grease a  9×5 loaf tin. (I lined it just in case)

Wet ingredients.  Stir, and leave to sit:

  • 2 tablespoons of flax seeds, ground in a spice mill or similar
  • 1/2 cup of milk alternative  (soy, rice, almond, oat etc)

Dry ingredients SIEVE THE FOLLOWING:

  • 2 cups of wholewheat flour (or half wholewheat, half oat)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda (not baking powder)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

To your wet ingredients, add:

  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil 
  • 2 cups of mashed, very ripe banana. (3-4 bananas) 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract if desired.

Mix well, and then add your dry ingredients. Mix till incorporated but do not over mix.

Pour into your prepared tin, and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until the top is browned and resilient to the touch. Allow the bread to cool in the pan for 10 to 15 minutes before removing it to a wire rack to cool completely.

Almost burnt, but not. Phew.

And just because it was Friday, and I decided to push my personal proverbial boat out as far as my sugar free banana bread was concerned, I made some macadamia “icing”  by whizzing up 50 grams of mac. nuts until buttery in my mini chopper, and adding 2 teaspoons of fresh lemon juice, and 2 teaspoons of honey.Oh MY, it was good. I drizzled away joyfully, and the leftovers, we spread on the sliced bread the next day.The bread seemed to get moister as the days passed, rather than drier (well, only 2 days passed, and it was eatn, but I did notice a difference)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks again to Alisa Fleming, and I do hope you enjoy this recipe.

 

P.S. Oh, did I mention I made this especially for my baked-goods-adoring-sometime-sugar-avoiding-love, and he looked at it sheepishly and said “Sorry, I ate so much pizza while you were out shopping that I almost want to vomit, can I try it tomorrow?”  Seriously. What’s a girl to do?

I am safe to say this, because he never reads my blog. (I know. Shocking. )

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angela Stone on August 3, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I cooked at 175 c for 35 and the top browned but the inside didn’t cook through. Blah. I’ll try it again b/c the overall flavor was good.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Beth on August 3, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    You bake gluten free,dont you? I wonder if that affected it at all? Go to the original post that I have linked to and see what the comments say,or ask Alisa Fleming re gluten free adaptations.good luck!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angela Stone on August 3, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks. In this type of recipe the flour shouldn’t have affected it. I think it was not enough cooking time. She used 4 mini loaves at 20-25 minutes so I probably needed at least 45 minutes. No worries!

    Reply

  4. I have done it several times and in my oven at 180, it is done in 30 minutes. That said, my oven does seem to be very quick with other recipes. How about a lower temp. for longer? Hope it works better next time. love xx

    Reply

  5. Posted by Melisa on February 16, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    I make this often, I have been through soggy times, altering and tweaking works and now it’s always just how I like it. I always put it on the bottom shelf and it seems to cook more evenly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

