Raw Cauliflower salad, thanks to Ellie

Ellie and Amelia have a friend, and one day he arrived to play, chewing on a whole raw cauliflower head. I know. I was shocked too. Kind of cool though! I offered him strawberries and he said “no thanks, I’ll have my cauliflower first”.

Me and his Mum, my good friend, were chatting about it, and ever since then, Ellie had been bothering me to buy some cauliflower.I was a bit “yeah yeah” , as nobody in the house goes wild for it, and I thought she was just copying her friend  Jaxon, and that I would end up with a big head of cauliflower that I didn’t want that much.

Then one day at the tills in Tesco, she is whining at full volume “Muuuum! WHEN are you going to buy me some raw cauliflower, you NEVER do!”

Seriously. How do you say no to that? Even with the whine.

So anyway (after she had modified her tone) I grabbed a  head of cauliflower, and she said “Can I eat it RIGHT NOW?”  “Sure beautiful, let the lady scan it first.” The cashier was highly amused and I was pretty curious as to how this would pan out.

So she grabs the cauli, and starts razing the tops of the florets off with her teeth while letting out little noises of satisfaction. I wish I could have bottled that moment. The cashiers face was a picture. It was a great moment for a plant-loving mother.

Then her moans of delight turned to disgust as she tried the leaf. Thus ended her love affair with raw cauliflower. At least, for now. Whether she was traumatised by her leaf experience, or perhaps just the fickleness of her tender 4 years, she politely returned it to me and said she never wanted to eat it again, thank you for buying it though Mum.

And so it was that I had a big head of cauliflower (minus about 6 bites) in my fridge, which I never normally buy. And it sat there till my fridge had various endie-bits of veg, and I decided to give it a crack in a raw salad. I was pretty sure it wouldn’t be very great eaten raw, but I like a challenge.

Here it is. And it was so good that we made another one the next day!

And with the rest, I did a curry with red lentils, cauliflower and broccoli, and plenty of extra cumin. (It was a big cauliflower head.)

Both the salad and the curry were inspired by recipes on the website Choosing Raw (Here is her original salad recipe, and here are her gorgeous looking curry wraps)

There are no precise measurements in this recipe. It IS after all, a bowl of raw veg, so you cannot go wrong.The orange makes it!

  • 2 big handfuls of chopped cauliflower florets
  • 1-2 handfuls of small broccoli florets
  • a very small grated carrot
  • a small avocado chopped. Generally always a good idea  🙂
  • small handful of pumpkin, sunflower and sesame seeds
  • Small handful of raisins
  • Zest and juice of 1/2 an orange  (or a whole one if your salad is bigger) You can also use a fork to tease out as much pulp as you can get, without getting the outer segment skins.
  • A big glug of extra virgin olive oil
  • A good splash of apple cider vinegar
  • Sea salt to taste

My eyes have been opened to raw cauliflower. Thank you Ellie!

Leave a Reply

