Quirky cookie dough, anyone?

I am still in disbelief as to what I have just made.  Let me just prep you a little. Do not peek below until you have read this. I have not lost it. I know I eat some things that may be considered  wierd  alternative  okay, wierd……  I am alright with that. Honestly. However, this one, quite frankly, takes the biscuit. I mean cookie (dough). And it works, it really does!

I am crediting this to this blog right here but there seem to be plenty of other versions of this recipe flying around.SO! That said….I give you…….drum roll…..

Hummous Cookie Dough Dip (Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip)

I know!  Read on! This is utterly ridiculous, and delicious. I am all of a flurry, I tell ya!  All you need is a food processor. I used my mini chopper. (I honestly do not have shares in Kenwood, but I cannot live without my little £18 mini chopper.)

Ingredients for your dairy free-gluten-free-refined-sugar-free-egg-free-white-flour-free-fibre-packed-Bvitamin-fullcookie dough dip

  • 2 cups of chickpeas (about one can, well rinsed)
  • 1/4 +  1/8 cup peanut butter (Whole Earth do a version with no added salt or sugar)
  • 1  1/2 Tablespoons almond or soy milk
  • 6 Tablespoons  honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips, 

Instructions:

  • Blend everything except the chocolate chips in your food processor.

It will be easier if you put the honey/milk/peanut butter in first, with about half a cup of the chickpeas. Blend to a smooth paste and then add the rest of the beans in two batches.

  • Add your chocolate chips. Serve with apple wedges, and feel smug joyful for all things plant-ey!  🙂

Notes:

  1. There is a second version to this: With a small tweak, you can bake them as cookies! See below.*
  2. You honestly don’t get the chickpea flavour, because of the sweetness of the honey/syrup, and the earthy peanut butter flavour.
  3. Isaac (2) is at the age of loving to dip things. This a great sweet variation for toddlers to dip into, and you could leave out the chocolate chips. You wouldn’t need to sweeten it as much either. It’s our adulterated adults palates in the West that crave the very sweet flavours in recipes.
  4. I have added dark chocolate chips, even though I normally don’t use regular chocolate or sugars. I just don’t get on with it of late, and I find when I eat it, all my old cravings return, so I am happy to stay away from it. When I found this recipe I decided to make an exception. It is, after all, garbanzo bean cookie dough, and I felt I could cut  some slack 🙂
  5. If you have a Millie’s Cookies love affair, you may not be satisfied with these. Though I suspect that if you have a very sweet tooth, you will be reading other recipe blogs, not this one  🙂  Unless you simply read this because you love me. In which case, thank you, and I (probably) love you too.

Version 2: Cookies!

  • Follow all instructions above, but add 3 tablespoons of a flour of your choice (I used brown rice flour, no reason)  The texture should be like a soft dough like in this photo. Mine was a little runnier, but it still worked fine. Chickpeas are a good binder- no egg required
  • Use a 1/8 cup to scoop dough onto greased parchment paper.
  • Flatten gently
  • Place into a pre-heated oven  180 C  for 10-12 minutes or until the bottoms are golden brown.
  • Leave for a few minutes on tray, then transfer to a rack, leave to cool.
  • An important note: DO NOT use honey if you plan to bake your dough, it will burn underneath, barely in the oven. Use maple syrup or agave nectar….or…if you are thinking “What is her ridiculous obsession with not using a bit of sugar, it’s no worse than syrup?”…well..you may well be right; go ahead and use a dry sugar if you prefer. I just do it my preferred way and make suggestions, ’tis all.

    Sigh...

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angela Stone on September 1, 2011 at 3:48 am

    SCORE!!!! We do a LOT of hummus but this will be a way to give the kids a sweeter treat with it. I’ll try it as soon as we have some apples lying around. I’ve had issues with sugar lately so I may try the original version with stevia and maple syrup. When you do it with honey how little do you think would still taste good.

    Reply

    • I have never used stevia. It is illegal here…strange,I know. I personally enjoyed it with a deal less honey but I was catering for others tastes (and anyway, it does taste nicer, the sweeter it is, to me) You would have to taste test as you add and see how you go. You are going to love it! Thanks so much for your comment 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Angela Stone on September 3, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    The 6T honey was good. I was working with chickpeas already cooked in garlic and cumin so there are undertones but the kids seem to like it. We are out of apples so we’re eating it with pretzels.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angela Stone on September 4, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Ok we now know they liked it a little but not enough to really dig into it. I just had a tortilla with it inside. I added a Lot more choc chips. I need to make it without the undertones so they’ll dig into it. I’ll get some apples and see if I can increase interest.

    Reply

  4. I made this today! I’m taking it as a dipp to a friend’s house :). I’m loving your blog, Beth. Thanks so much. Muchos besísimos. Caro.

    Reply

  5. I just found this post! Thanks so much for the link back. I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe 😀 xo

    Reply

  6. Just made this tonight, made into cookies, using regular flour & milk, and brown sugar. I think next time I’ll try it with oat or whole wheat flour to lighten it up some & give more texture, they were still really dense & doughy after baking (though I was not the one who complained). They tasted fabulous to me, I just will use honey & full half cup pb, or more next time I do just the dip. Peanut butter & honey were made for each other 😉

    Reply

    • I agree these are highly unconventional cookies and not for everyone! I suggest you check out the peanut butter and honey cookie recipe in the baking section- it links to another blog which by the way I think you will love (“A dash of sass”- look it up on google) Those cookies are more conventional in texture and really delish!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

