Amazing vegan quiche

Whoah. I had better get to the point or this post will be long and I am in a hurry. My friend had given me some eggs from her chickens and I had planned to make a regular quiche for dinner (well, a soy milk one).
 
Which led to making wholewheat shortcrust pastry. Which somehow led to making two batches, of two different varieties. Which led me to decide to make two types of quiche for dinner, because, why not, and Isaac was having fun “helping” me.
 
 Below is the 100% plantified version, and I have just had 2 slices for lunch because I couldn’t wait to see how it would work out, and it is seriously good!
 
(*update. It’s nearly all gone. Isaac learned how to say “more” today  🙂  I quickly put away the last 1/3 for A’s lunch tomorrow. Sorry girls. No tofu quiche for you today. Please don’t cry.)

PART 1: MEDITERRANEAN STYLE SHORTCRUST PASTRY

(Spaniards rarely use butter. I mean, even if they make a sandwich they do not spread the bread. It’s not so much a heart-conscious decision (the bread is usually full of chorizo sausage and/or cheese) as that they just don’t have that habit over there. Nor are they in the habit of making pies and pastries at home, but if they were, I am sure they would use olive oil, right?

  • 100 grams of wholewheat flour (actually I used  75grams ww, 25 brown rice flour)
  • 3 sundried tomatoes very finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, roughly ground
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 1/2 Tablespoon ground flax
  • 2 Tablespoons Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 1/2 Tablespoons very cold water

Add the water and oil to the dry ingredients and work until a dough, adding a touch more water if needbe. This is a slightly more crumbly dough, but don’t worry, it still works great.

Leave to “rest” in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.

Roll out between two sheets of non stick parchment (no flour needed, no sticking to the board!) and “flip onto a  6 inch inch fluted dish. Then take any pieces that have fallen off and with a damp finger, play patchwork, and squish it about until you have a quiche case; This is not The Great British Bake Off. Thankfully for me.

Prick the bottom and bake for 10 minutes at 180 C. (I didn’t use baking beans) Remove from the oven, while you prepare your filling.

Part 2: Filling

  • 1/4 cup cashews (ideally, soaked 1-2 hours, though it is possible without this step)
  • 200grams or 1/2 a pack of drained tofu (from the fridge section of the supermarket)
  • 1/4 cup + 1Tablespoon soya milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 a cup of nutritional yeast. I would say this is not optional. If you are opting for a dairy free quiche this gives a wonderful savoury, subtle cheesey flavour. Source yourself some, definitely. (So good, ground, on popcorn. Not to mention the heavenly kale chips. I have mentioned those, haven’t I?)

In your food processor, process until totally smooth. It will have the texture of hummous.

Spread half of your mixture over the base of your quiche case, and sprinkle your ingredients on top. I chose chopped black olives, chopped spring onion, and sweetcorn.

Spread the remaining mixture over the top and bake for 15-20 minutes at 180 C until the top has a kind of crust, and it feels relatively firm.

Quick. Must upload a photo!

Bad Lighting. Good spontaneous creation.

Darned good lunch.

Leave a Reply

