Sweet kale salad with pear and tahini dressing

Been eating a lot of tahini toffee lately, so it’s nice to package some tahini in a different way, more in keeping with the green backdrop on this site. But mainly, this was born because I opened the fridge and all I could see for a salad, which is what I fancied, was 3 handfuls of curly kale and  2 spring onions. It must be the Friday dearth again.

I chopped, not knowing how it would all end up. I threw in some raisins, because I love them in salads (I could never do that food combining malarkey. I love fruit in salads!) and suddenly, noticing my mountain of pears, I knew what needed to be done.

Pear and Tahini dressing

The only equipment that is (ever?) required is a mini chopper.

  • 1 ripe pear 
  • 1/2 tablespoon of tahini
  • the juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar
  • 2 pinches sea salt
  • 1/2 a small avocado (See Rule #1: An Avocado Is never Out Of Place in a Salad)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sucanat (I was out of honey, and I cannot eat tahini unless it is combined with quite a lot of sweetness. I just put sugar on my brassica leaves. Is that right?  🙂  )

Blitz until smooth. Pour over your kale leaves and chopped spring onion, and raisins, and just to further offend the School of Never-eat-Fruit-with-other-Food-Groups, I chopped up another pear onto the salad, and a fig. Those 66 figs won’t eat themselves you know.

Mix well, slightly smushing the fruit into the salad as you mix. Ihere is no photo, my camera was dead. Imagine a bowl of curly kale with fruit all over, and a creamy green dressing. It was seriously delicious.

Isaac ate this with me. I mean, even the kale. All is well.

Leave a Reply

