Red Pepper hummous (unroasted)/ Always soak your sundrieds

It is amazing to me that a sundried tomato was ever sweet and juicy. It’s so…..leathery and altogether unappealing. And yet, I love them. Not to chew on as such, (I did catch isaac doing this once!) but in dips and recipes they add a certain salty, earthy je-ne-sais-quoi  (I love saying that) that is strangely not at all reminiscent of tomato, in my opinion.

If you make this dip, you will certainly want to soak your sundried tomatoes for a couple of hours. Trust me on this one. I have never met anything that resists blitzing like an unsoaked sundried. It will totally throw your aura out, or your good vibes, or whatever you choose to call it. In short, it will make you wanna cuss.

This recipe makes quite a lot, I did half quantities, just right for my mini chopper. (Everything was just right but the unsoaked tomatoes)

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed well (2 cups)
  •  1 red pepper, roughly chopped.
  • 2Tablespoons tahini
  • 2Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  •  4T lemon juice (approx 1 large lemon)
  • 4 sundried tomatoes, soaked in water 2+ hours
  •  1/2 t cumin, or more. (I am a great believer that cumin goes well with almost everything but I may well be wrong (and probably am!)
  • 4 large pinches salt

Blend very well until smooth. taste and re-season as desired.

This is delicious for dipping raw veggies into. It is also a great spread for a green wrap. It’s not perfect hummous. I have never been able to make what I consider to be the perfect hummous. Galled as I am to say it, Tesco Organic Hummous outstrips everything I have ever tasted (in terms of hummous) I have tried to reproduce it, to no avail. So I just decided to go a little off-track, and personally, I found this very enjoyable indeed.

 And oh my goodness…. 1 cup of chickpeas gives you 50% of the recommended tryptophan amount- an amino acid that your body uses to make serotonin! This is good news indeed if that leathery-tomato-induced bad mood is still a-lingering. Oh, and another amazing fact from www.whfoods.org–  “Unlike canned vegetables, which have lost much of their nutritional value, canning does less damage to many of the key nutrients found in garbanzo beans.”

Phew! I shall tell my father in law that my kids will survive.

 

Leave a Reply

