Two-way Soup (Red lentils/split yellow peas)

I do not feel too enamoured towards this soup right now. And this is why:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(And to think I was miffed about a sundried tomato that was too tough to blitz) Or should I hate the blender?  No….wait…..it’s ME who aligned it incorrectly, causing the base to stay screwed in, and the whole goblet of nourishing autumnal protein to come cascading down all over the work surface and floor. Thankfully I had made so much, that this was the second goblets-load that I was blending.

I haven’t posted that many soups. I have posted the odd stew, like lentils, and some savoury smoothies (aka “raw soups“) but generally, I feel like a recipe for a autumn vegetable based soup is superfluous? I might be wrong. I just always make them by chucking whatever I have in a pot, with seasoning, blending (normally successfully) and then serving with brown rice or some home made bread, or to make the girls very happy, brown rice vermicelli from Morrisons. They love “tiny pasta” in their soup.

But since this fiasco begged a photo, I will post a recipe.  It’s dead simple.

  • 1 cup of yellow split peas (soaked overnight)
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1 red onion
  • 4-6 garlic cloves
  • vegetable bouillon powder (2 Tablespoons)
  • 1.2 litres of boiling water
  • 3-4 carrots
  • 2-3 sundried tomatoes thrown in whole (optional)
  • 1-2 celery stalks
  • 1 bay leaf
  1. For quickness, throw everything in the slow cooker and put on High until mid afternoon. (OR  Pre-saute the onion and garlic gently in olive oil first)
  2. Once cooked, leave to cool, and blend (careful now! Oh, did I mention I didn’t leave the soup to cool as you are supposed to, and also burnt my whole forearm?!)
  3. Once blended, I divided the soup into two pans. For the kids, I added brown rice vermicelli (cook for 5 minutes) and seasoned additionally with salt and nutritional yeast. In our version, I added some curry powder, a tiny bit of  ground ginger and garlic salt and cooked it off a bit longer. Serve with brown basmati rice, warm, in the soup.

There you have it. Healthsome protein-rich two-way soup. As opposed to every-which-way soup. Serve with warm mini spelt rolls. I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

