The Nourishing Gourmet: “Healthy candy?”

I know that sounds contradictory to some, unappetising to others, and plain ridiculous to yet others. “If you’re going to eat junk, you may as well embrace it!” I have heard “Bring on the butter, sugar, condensed milk, corn syrup, whatever it may contain, bring it! But if you would like to consider alternatives for your sweet tooth (that is not a punnet of berries) then do a little digging.

Today, in lieu of my own contribution, I am pointing you to a website (The Nourishing Gourmet) my sister brought to my attention, which has a post of “12 healthy candies”. A little late for halloween, but not too late for Christmas! Or indeed, Friday night. I appreciate that one persons idea of “healthy” may not be the same for another person. I would not necessarily make every item on this list. But I like it because it will fit most palates as an alternative to factory candy. Some use honey or maple syrup, others use dates and wholefoods only, some use quality dark chocolate (from the shop) others use cocoa powder in conjunction with other ingredients. Some are uncooked, others not. All of them look pretty easy, and there are TWELVE to choose from!

If you want a little browse, follow this link.

The Nourishing Gourmet: 12 Healthy Home-made Candies

And by the way, I have a few healthy candies of my own on here. Look in the “Desserts” section under “No-bake/Raw treats”.

Hopefully I will be back soon with something of my own. Meanwhile, love yourself!  You know what I mean  🙂

Leave a Reply

