Peas and Thank You: Spicey African peanut stew

Autumn days seem so right with chickpeas, sweet potato, red lentils and curry spices all in the same bowl.  To me, anyway. So right, in fact, that I just ate a massive portion now (lunchtime) and am wondering what I can eat tonight when everyone else is eating this. It’s just that my hands were so cold, and Isaac was so…asleep, and I just wanted to reward my long walk in a cold wind.

This Spicey African Peanut stew is courtesy of Peas and Thank You so to reciprocate courtesy, if you want to make this, follow the link below for the recipe quantities. However, I will tell you, it’s a throw-it-all-in-the-slow-cooker dish, and it contains the following ingredients:

  • Chickpeas
  • Tinned tomatoes (I used tinned cherry tomatoes, she used “fire roasted tomatoes”)
  • Peanut butter (not that much)
  • Coconut milk (I didn’t have any; I added some coconut oil but you can’t taste it. Oh well…)
  • Curry powder, and a few other common storecupboard spices
  • minced garlic
  • minced fresh ginger
  • vegetable stock
  • red lentils
  • sweet potato

    Better than peanut butter sandwiches.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No salt! Other than a little if you use it in the stock (I just added a little bouillon powder) 

I am proud to be thoroughly enjoying a meal seasoned only with spices, and me a salt-lover.

Here’s the link then:   Peas and Thank You: Spicey African Peanut Stew   (It starts with an anecdote of her children. Read on)

Really, click that link. It is one delicious stew.

As I mentioned at the beginning, autumn days and warm curried stews with pulses are a marriage made in heaven in my opinion.

Perfect. Almost…….I think I will just add a pinch …just a pinch….of sea salt  🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. I was just thinking the other day that it had been awhile since I’d seen a blog post from you! The blog facelift is nice! This recipe sounds so cozy. It is similar to one of my favorite recipes: Sweet Potato Stew (which also has peanut butter and other crazy things like cinnamon and garlic).

    Reply

  2. yep, this had cinnamon in, but I omitted it as my husband is not too keen. You American’s do like your cinnamon in just about everything don’t you? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

