Warming Juice

I have stomach pains.

Perhaps it’s the anxiety of feeding a family on nothing but 90 satsumas.

Seriously, it’s just the leftovers of an operation I had to have once. For all the TLC I try to give my organism, sometimes my insides hate me. And when that happens, as I am sure we have all experienced, I don’t want to eat anything. So despite the cold, today I decided to haul out the old juicer again and just have a juice.

This is carrot-rich, which happens to be the other thing we have a ridiculous excess an abundance  of, and this seems like a perfect way to use some. I say perfect, but I prefer to use them as they are, it always makes me pretty sad to see all that pulp (fibre) come out. I don’t juice all the time, and I know there are things you can do with that pulp, but normally I end up putting it in food waste. I guess that’s okay too, as it’s going to become compost. Back to Mother earth.

It is warming because of the root ginger it has in it. Root ginger is not expensive at all (at least, not in Tesco) and you can freeze it in chunks if you have too much. (The textures goes a bit funny, but it still tastes great) I might save a bit for zinging up  the amazing 3 ingredient sauce, as we are having stir fry tomorrow. (Satsuma-free.)

So: Warming Juice  (proportions are an example,only)

  • 3-4 carrots
  • 1-2 apples
  • piece of root ginger (size of a thumb)
  • cinnamon (2-3 pinches)
  • 1 orange, peeled (satsumas may also work…)

(Ginger is a powerful anti-inflammatory root, as well having anti-viral properties. 

Insert into juicer, sit back, and enjoy that warmth!

Leave a Reply

