Banana “marzipan” shake

After a long break, I have returned. And I am kicking off 2012 with a delicious, filling nutritious breakfast shake. Perfect for after those cold winter morning runs.

Just kidding…I am enthused for a new year, but it hasn’t stretched that far.Not yet, anyway!

Required:

  • 1/4 cup almonds 
  • 2-4 dates, depending on the size
  • 1/4 cup organic oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 ripe,speckled banana
  • 1 teaspoon almond essence (optional)

Highly recommended– leave the nuts, oats and dates in soak overnight. (You mean you don’t plan your breakfast the night before?? 🙂 )

For interested parties:  1/4 cup of almonds = 24 almonds. This is equivalent to 170 calories (approximately), 15grams of wonderful nurturing heart-healthy monounsaturated fat, and 6 grams of protein. Plus, half of your RDA of the antioxidant Vitamin E, 25% of your recommended magnesium, and plenty of manganese, copper and vitamin B2.  I don’t necessarily advocate calorie counting in isolation, I think you have to look at the whole package…but I mention it nevertheless. PS  Unroasted almonds with the skins on have been shown to have greater nutritional benefits than blanched ones. Fancy that.

Blend your soaked almond-oat-date mixture with your ripe banana, and enjoy. 

Did you see that? 2 minutes planning the night before, and you get up to an almost- instant super-healthsome breakfast shake.

This is so creamy, sweet from the ripe banana and dates, has two kinds of fibre, vitamins, minerals, and so very filling…..Get your almonds in soak, quite frankly!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angela Stone on January 3, 2012 at 2:07 am

    I’m trying this with quinoa flakes tomorrow morning. I’ve had them in the cupboard forever and need to finally use them.

    Reply

  2. Let me know! I have no idea what quinoa flakes are like, do they have a distinctive taste? The thing I love most about oats is how creamy they are, but I know you can’t have them.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angela Stone on January 4, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    They don’t really have a distictive taste, they are pretty thin. Um, yeah, this was something I had to make myself drink because it was *not my favorite* but knew it wouldn’t hurt me. It was too watery and I just didn’t like the flavor. BUT, I’m really glad I tried it. I’m looking forward to my chocolate cherry smoothie tomorrow morning after my run!

    Reply

  4. I love the quinoa flakes – find them kinda nutty esp with soya milk 😀
    Been dreaming about this one! Will be having it on Saturday morning. Have been detoxing since Monday on vegtables and fish and rice! eep! Lots of raw but limited fruit to see if I have intolerances to some fruits. I do hope not my beloved bananas.

    Reply

  5. so you soak the nuts and stuff in water overnight, but how much water? Then when you blend you just dump in everything including the water it was soaking in?

    Reply

  6. Posted by Beth on January 16, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Yes,I just use the soak water,though some might change it. I put in the recipe about two cups, though a bit less water yields a thicker drink. Basically, nuts blended with water make a milky type drink, as do oats, this one just has both. Add a little maple syrup at the end if its not to your sweetness (my sweet tooth has lessened over time) though using very ripe bananas or more dates is obviously preferable from a nutritional point of view,but hey,whats a small glug of maple between friends?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

