Halva Ice cream

I got this recipe from Raw Living by Kate Wood. I saw her recently on a homeschooling documentary I watched with Alfredo, and the subject of her 3 boys diets was touched upon- she is raising all 3 of her sons vegan, and predominantly on uncooked plant foods. While the interviewer was quite taken aback, she seemed more taken aback still when she asked one of the boys (aged six?) what his favourite food was and he replied without hesitation- “Corn salad! I eat it every day!” (Corn salad is “lambs lettuce”, a very mild green leaf, perfect for salads and green smoothies. And, gardeners, it thrives over winter,apparently)

So anyway, this is one of her recipes and I made it last night. YUM. Sesame seeds are packed full of calcium, PACKED. This is sweetened completely with dates (fibre, potassium and other trace minerals) but you could always add some honey or maple syrup at the end if you like it sweeter. If possible, for recipes where you are not heating, invest in good quality unpasteurised honey for maximum benefits. I have 2 half-built hives in my garage. I’m just saying.

  • 400 grams sesame seeds (soaked overnight)
  • 120 grams fresh dates (pitted) or dried, soaked overnight
  • 500 mls water (I found I needed considerably more with my blender, but add it bit by bit)
  • 1 vanilla pod or 1-2 teaspoons vanilla essence

Blend until it is a thick cream “until there are no seedy bits left” says Kate. I only soaked my seeds for 1-2 hours, so I could not get mine completely smooth and I doubt I ever would with my blender unless I used tahini. I also added a bit of honey at the end.

At this point, you can stir in 100grams of raisins and add to your ice cream maker, but last night was hectic and I didn’t even do that! (though I will, in summer!) It is delicious, and I am using it as a breakfast base, stirring in raisins, chopped banana, organic rolled oats, and eating it as is (maybe a bit of maple syrup got on top….)

Sorry, there is no photo, it just looked like a dodgy bowl of overnight oats but it tasted like sesame caramel heaven.

Happy Friday!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melisa on February 16, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    We love Honey Halva, buy it at The Granary and H&B, I quite fancy it in Icecream,willl try this one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

