Sunflower Seed Butter

I love Mother Nature’s “butters” to be found in nuts and seeds, via a trusty Mini Chopper, or food processor. I have posted instructions for Cashew, almond Nut butter, pistachio nut butter, sesame (tahini) and macadamias,…..but truthfully, all you need to know is this:

  • Don’t Soak your nuts
  • Can be made with unroasted nuts (this is how I do it) or by first lightly dry-toasting them in a non stick pan (Oils will be released more quickly if roasted)
  • Make sure your machine is very full, or once they process down a little, the blades will struggle to catch hold of the mixture
  • Be patient, and ready to stop and scrape the sides down periodically. Depending on type of nut/seed, you will need to process between 3-10 minutes.
  • If you are almost-but-not-quite there, you can cheat by adding a small amount of quality mild-tasting oil
  • Don’t add any liquid sweetener (if desired) until the end or it won’t work.

With these pointers you can make any kind you like: walnut butter, pumpkin seed butter, pecan nut butter, etc etc for a fraction of the price, less than 15 minutes work (washing up included) and with the added advantage of being able to do it unroasted (if desired) for maximum nutritional goodies.

For my sunflower seed butter, I did roast them first as I thought A. would enjoy it better like that, making it more similar to his beloved peanut butter. It is not altogether dissimilar to be honest.

Briefly…..

  • Dry toast 200grams of sunflower seeds in a dry non stick pan. Do it in batches if your pan is small. Stir/shake very frequently to avoid burning
  • Food process until oils are released. Okay I cheated with a tablespoon of oil at the end. Just trying to eke more life out of my machine.
  • I added 1/2 t salt at the beginning. I did not sweeten it- you choose.

I can confirm that this is GORGEOUS with mashed banana on sesame ryvita. I think it would be a lovely savoury based dip for celery and carrots too (whizzed with some tamari/soy sauce, and some other things…?)

Hurrah!

If you do this with UNroasted seeds, which I will try very soon (and add a PS on this post) it will not be a toasty-brown colour. Rather, a clay-like gray. Do not let this put you off (think- mushrooms!) but I just thought I would mention it.

Leave a Reply

