White bean and roasted garlic dip

Heavens above- it’s a recipe! On a food blog. As in, a proper recipe, with ingredients, instructions and a photo taken in my own home. It’s been a while.

I have been meaning to try bean-based dips/pates for a while, as they are so fibre-filled and -bonus-affordable, but lend themselves so well to gungey-pastey spreadable concoctions. It’s all about knowing what to add to them I guess. So here is number 1!  And it was SO delicious. It was a recipe that is floating around in various forms when you google “white bean dip”. But first- the notes!

  1. This recipe calls for 1/2 a can (1 cup) of white beans. If you don’t have any soup or salads that you can conveniently toss the leftovers into, you can freeze the beans for another day
  2. If using canned beans, rinse them well.
  3. The extra small clove of raw garlic was my addition, I think it worked
  4. The nutritional yeast was also my addition. I just love the savoury flavour it adds, and I am not sure what you could substitute it with. But it was pretty delicious with the garlic, oil and lemon, believe me.
  5. Other possible additions could include fresh dill, basil, roasted red peppers, tahini, black pepper, smoked paprika, etc
So. You need:
  • 1 cup of cooked white beans (I used cannelini)
  • 1 head of roasted garlic (Instructions here)
  • 2T of extra virgin olive oil  (Most recipes call for more )
  • 3 teaspoons of lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 small clove of crushed raw garlic
  • 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onion
  • 2 Tablespoons Nutritional yeast

You know the rest. Mini chopper or food processor. Process until smooth and creamy.

a sprinkling of smoked paprika...

Serve with:  Raw veggies or crackers (“sweet onion” ryvita combine perfectly, I had several) or use as a spread- maybe for a wholewheat salad pitta. Beans may not be raw and colourful but they definitely count in your list of  “five nine-a-day” awesome plant foods.

Note to self: Crisps do not count as a vegetable, so I won’t be counting the ones I had so much fun dunking in the bean dip last night  🙂

Leave a Reply

