Lime and coriander salsa

Behold: the colours of nature!!

When health professionals advise us to eat a “rainbow” of fresh produce every day, it really is possible, and is a truly sensory experience. So gorgeous!! I have a special love for purple coloured veggies as I mentioned in a previous post (here). The original recipe for this salsa (which comes from my mexican friend) is made with white cabbage and white onion, but my fridge was happily endowed with their purple siblings. So, purple salsa it was!  This salsa is DELICIOUS heaped over rice and bean dishes, and I ate mine with the leftover Jamaican rice. I will eat some more again today with the leftover rice and chickpeas from last night. I am still reeling that my girls ate it without a fuss, Amelia even picked out the chickpeas with her fingers and popped them into her mouth like sweeties.

Like I say: reeling…. (Couldn’t even bear to call her up for table manners. Don’t judge me)

No quantities. Simply chop and dress!

  • Cabbage (white or red)
  • Onion (white or red)
  • Garlic (1-3 cloves, chop rather than press for a less intense flavour)
  • Flavoursome tomatoes
  • Fresh lime juice
  • Plenty of chopped coriander leaf (cilantro)
  • A bit of extra virgin olive oil, and sea salt to taste

Leave it to sit for at least a few hours. The longer the better. Mmmmmm!! If you hate coriander, I am sure this would be great with other fresh herbs.

Every time I eat this I am transported back to Ecuador where lime and coriander is everywhere. Like I said, this is SO delicious over rice/beans, and combines wonderfully with fish and seafood aswell. Bon appetit friends…or should I say, buen provecho!  Don’t forget to thank for colourful vegetables  🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Samantha on May 2, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Beth, this looks incredible, I can’t wait to try it and I think the purple looks great. I love salsa.

    Reply

  2. Posted by DarkVala on May 7, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Some slivers of mango would go so well in that dish !!
    Thanks for the recipie x

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on May 9, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    It is a beautiful recipe and it’s marinading in the fridge at the moment:) Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

