Healthy, Dreamy, Dairy Free Strawberry Ice Cream

Don’t look now but we have had 3 sunny days in a row! With a bite in the wind that defies all logic and climatic compassion, it is true……but sun, nevertheless. Praise be! Quick- let’s make some ice-cream!

Amelia is on designated treat duty for our designated family night. She wants to make chocolate brownies with whipped cream, generously sprinkled with a helping of freeze dried strawberry powder and meringue. She’s a classy lady alright. And she knows that anything goes when you are in charge of Treats.

The “rules” for Treat person are, if you choose cookies or cakes etc (be they home made or bought), you should also provide an alternative for those who wish to eat a little cleaner’n’greener. Clearly this week she was not interested in even selecting an interesting fruit, as she said to me with a dismissive wave of the hand- “why don’t you… you know Mum, do one of those healthy treat things that you like?”  🙂

Did I need to be told twice? I think not.

Fortuitously I had a large glass of cashew cream* in the fridge, some vanilla pods in the “junk drawer” (must see to that drawer!) and frozen strawberries in the freezer, because 3 boxes for £5 in Tesco means TONS of affordable strawberries all year round for smoothies and the like. It was clear what had to be done. Step this way………..

*CASHEW CREAM is nothing more or less than unroasted cashews that have been left to soak overnight until soft, and blended with water until silky smooth. Approximate ratio of  water to nuts is 1:1, and please note, the mixture will thicken in the fridge somewhat so bear that in mind.

Dreamy Strawberry Ice Cream

  • 2 cups of frozen strawberries, somewhat thawed
  • 1 cup of cashew cream
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup liquid sweetener (I used half maple, half honey) or more to taste
  • 1/8t salt

Blend to a silky smooth mixture and add to ice-cream maker to finish off.  If you do not have an ice-cream maker, I must point out I have a few tips for alternative super-healthy ice creams in the desserts section: Here Do have a browse, and please feedback your own ideas friends. I am always open to ideas.

Healthy yumminess (child approved) Read on…

In closing, may I share the small MASSIVE food triumph with Amelia with this ice-cream. I should point out that the last strawberry-cashew ice cream I made did not make it past the critical Second-Spoonful barrier. Spoonful one was heartily approved of, but spoonful 2….she pulled a face and said “It tastes of dates or something”. Me: “Do you mean, it tastes real, and wholesome, and not sweet enough for your sugar-adulterated palate?”

Just kidding. I said: “There are no dates in it!”

Okay so, she did her super-dooper Brownie thing, and she loved making them. So we are all having treats and she asks to try the strawberry ice cream. Ellie and Isaac were both enjoying it but Amelia is a tougher nut to crack, so I was pleased she was even trying it. I was not expecting any miracles considering last time.,,,but…”OH MY GOSH, that is SO NICE!”  (me…quiet….waiting for Second Spoonful) Again: “oh my gosh, that is the BEST ice cream!” (Me…ecstatic. I am such a geek) “Can I have some more for breakfast?” Me: But of course!

It may rain tomorrow. But we have strawberry ice-cream anyway. For breakfast, because, why not?!  And it doesn’t even taste of dates.All is well.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by michael dockrill on May 15, 2012 at 11:24 am

    oh, Beth! EXPLOSIVE paper-bag laughter!
    You could earn a living writing a regular women’s magazine-spot!

    Reply

  2. Mmmmm… Going to soak some cashews… Would almonds work? All my cashews are salados or fritos

    Reply

    • almonds would work too. I think cashews are ideal as they are softer and so lend themself to optimum creaminess, but I bet almonds would work wonderfully too! Let me know…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

