As promised: Brazil nut “cheese” spread

Clearly, the inverted commas are there because, well….it’s not cheese. But I have to say, that nuts make a wonderful savoury white spread, that my friend (who consumes plenty of cheese) said “It really does taste of cheese to me!” Cholesterol free? Why thank you. Packed pull of selenium? I’d love some. Super easy to make? I believe I shall!

As I mentioned, you really do not need a recipe for this, just a palate. But here is how I made this particular batch:

  • 1/2 a cup of brazil nuts
  • 1/2 a cup of unroasted cashews

Soak the nuts overnight. The cashews don’t need this long but the Brazils definitely do.

Drain, and place in your mini chopper. Process with

  • 1 small garlic clove, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice (fresh if possible)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

until you have a fine “meal”. It won’t be smooth yet. Now, with your processor running, gently stream in the water. I needed

  • 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon

but see how you go. It’s best to add to little initially than too much.

If you have a mini chopper and cannot add the water as the machine is running, then just add it in before blitzing. If you need to scrape down the sides or lid of your processor, then do so. Process for 2-3 minutes until you have a smooth mixture. Season to taste. Because basically I didn’t have a clue because I do not actually make this that often, I  added:

  • 1/2 teaspoon herbes de provence (a mixture of rosemary, thyme, marjoram and oregano)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil

Selenium “cheese”

Yep, delicious!

This can be eaten immediately, though I find the flavours are better after a day in the fridge. Also, if this is an issue for you, the Brazil nut flavour diminishes by the next day.  Last week I added some herby mixture that also had tiny pieces of sun dried tomato in and that worked really well.

And by the way, if you want to go one extra step, you can leave this in a cheesecloth (or nut milk bag) overnight, in a sieve, with something heavy on top to squeeze out some of the liquid. This will give you a firmer cheese. And if you want to get really fancy and you have a dehydrator , you can take your firmed up cheese, shape it  in one of those metal rings (as I did for the  picture) and dehydrate it for a few hours, which gives it a nice crust.

And that is all for now today,friends. I have a little friend to deposit in playgroup, some “cheese” to eat, and a rather long  to-do list!

Leave a Reply

