“Bargain” cacao butter

I have just stumbled upon a seller on Ebay who is selling organic cacao butter on Ebay (UK only) at discounted prices as it is only a few months off it’s best before. That means you would have to eat tons of home-made chocolate before September, which would be a shame……..especially as this freezing “summer” is crying out for comfort food, but I would rather have comfort food that doesn’t make me feel uncomfortable after. I have actually recently bought some more cacao butter, annoyingly for rather a higher price. I felt, however I could justify it, as it was money I had already laid aside in a purse, with a system that I describe in this post.

At the time of purchase, it seemed utterly ridiculous to spend £14 on that, as there were many other more practical purchases that were begging to be made. But honestly- I had forgotten this purse was there, and when I found it (Happy Birthday to me…!) I figured, why not? I had squirrelled it away for that purpose over 6 months ago, and so purchase I did.

So back to our seller- if you wish to treat yourself to 500grams of cold-pressed organic cacao butter for under £10 (P&P included) then follow this link. This is obviously time sensitive, I don’t know how long he will continue to source it. As a reminder, I make my basic chocolate with

 

30grams of unsweetened cocoa powder

40grams cacao butter

50grams quality honey (pref unpasteurised, but, hey- whatever you can do)

 

 

Flavour as desired. It is heavenly with almond extract in, and then coat whole almonds with it. Orange extract is also a great addition. And of course, the good old Internet is full of recipes which can generally be found by Google searching “Raw chocolate recipes”. Be warned, some contain ingredients you will have never heard of  and which supposedly give you immortality. 🙂 I generally just use the recipes to get ratios, and then adapt them to our budget and tastes.

Food of the Gods, they named it…..

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy on July 18, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Do you just throw the ingredients in and whizz?

    Reply

  2. You buy it as a block. You raze off the weight you need, melt it in a bowl over a pan of hot water, (I do it along with the honey I think) and then once all melted, stir in the cocoa, and other flavours. Then place in moulds or just in a lined tupperware and refridgerate until hard.

    When I buy it (which is not often, and it lasts a while) I normally spend a little while to cut off chunks, and whizz it in my mini chopper to make it into a kind of course “meal”, and keep it in the fridge- then it’s ready to melt whenever. It smells AMAZING- very deep and chocolate y- but no sweetness (quite bizarre when you taste it for the first time)

    make sure if you use honey that you stir it very well.

    The advantage over coconut oil chocolate is that it is solid at room temp. Obviously it is a little expensive, but at the usual price it is only 3p a gram, so a batch of chocolates cost £1.20 (not counting cocoa and honey) Do-able, yes!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tammy on July 21, 2012 at 11:26 am

    Thanks. About to try doing it for the first time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

