Let them Eat Vegan: Blueberry Lemon Bars.

Hello little delights!

My first recipe from my new birthday book and delicious  morsels they were too. I am not sure if I am not supposed to just publish the entire recipe or not?  While I am checking, I will give you some pointers about this recipe.

The base and topping is the same mixture, made from

  • oat flour ( porridge oats ground in the nut grinder)
  • spelt flour. Spelt is great for a “lighter” flour without using white flour.
  • mild tasting oil (sunflower) A tiny amount!
  • Maple syrup. Thankfully I had a very cheap haul of maple syrup a while back but in any case the amount was very circumspect as I did half quantities (2 /3 quantities if we are going to be precise)
  • lemon zest

The blueberries were cooked down briefly with arrowroot (similar to cornflour), lemon juice and some sugar, a small amount, to create a sticky thick “jam”. Behold their loveliness once again.

Everybody loved them except Ellie who refused to try them when she heard Amelia say “mmm, has it got lemon in?”  I would not take the lemon out in this case. It is such a delicious combination, and I actually think it is needed. You could, however, do this with any fruit, and strawberries would work wonderfully without lemon, as they have a stronger flavour. I will definitely do this with strawberries.  You could do it with apples/cinnamon and raisins, or even a summer fruit version with peaches or mango. Personally I would rather just eat peaches or mango, but it’s so great to bake healthy things that the kids enjoy. Okay, most of the kids. 🙂

HINT- I used frozen-thawed blueberries, more economical. Even after calculating reduced quantities, I only had half the amount of blueberries that I needed but I managed to eke them out to cover the base just fine, because of the “sauce” that they yield. Using frozen-thawed fruit means you have all the liquid already so they don’t need cooking down as long.

Plus, more economical. I already said that.

There’s a crisis on.

Let them eat cake vegan blueberry bars.

PS Here is the link to authors website again

 

UPDATE

The author said it is fine to share a few recipes. (She also has plenty of recipes that she shares on her website Plant Powered Kitchen) I am not sure what a few is, possibly about 5? There are 200 in the book……..So here are the quantities for the bars. I did 2/3 quantities, a particularly cussid percentage to work out when your maths is rusty and you are working with things like “2 Tablespoons”. My reduced quantities called for 2 cups of berries and  I only had 1, and I got by fine, as noted above.  I hope someone enjoys these. As always, if you generally eat regular hyper sweetened baked goods, it may not taste sweet enough for you because our palates are generally adulterated in the West from so much sugar. Time to re-train?  🙂

FILLING

  • 3 cups of frozen or fresh blueberries
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 3 Tablespoons of less-refined sugar
  • 2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder (I think cornflour/cornstarch works the same?)
  • 1/2 teaspoon agar powder (a tasteless thickener derived from seaweed, I didn’t have any)

BASE AND TOPPING

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup oat flour (ground oats) OR spelt flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1.5 teaspoons lemon zest (1 large lemon?)
  • 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 1.5 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 Tablspoons of neutral flavoured oil

Filling (I am doing this more briefly than the book) Cook down the berries, salt, sugar and lemon juice until they release their juices. If you use thawed berries the juices are already out. Add arrowroot and stir well so it doesnt clump and it starts to thicken. She says 7-8 minutes but mine was a thick “jam” in 2-3.

Base/topping Combine dry ingredients and zest. In a small bowl combine the oil and syrup and add to the dry. Mix well. the mixture will be crumbly but will hold together when pressed. Press about 2/3 into a lined pan and spread out evenly. Top with the semi-cool (not hot) berry syrup, and spread. Crumble remaining mixture over the top. Bake at 180 C for 15-20 minutes, or until the top is golden-brown.

Transfer to a rack to cool, and when cool, cut into little pieces.

Please feed back if you try these, or if you try some of my suggested other combinations.Enjoy!

 

PS I am sure you know this but in case it is useful:

  • 1 cup=250 mls
  • 1/4 cup=60 mls
  • 1/3 cup=80mls
  • 1/2 cup = 125mls
  • 1 Tablespoon=15 mls
  • 1 teaspoon=5 mls

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by michael dockrill on August 14, 2012 at 7:34 am

    I love reading your pages, Beth – even if I won’t get around to trying the recipe (though I may sample some of mum’s efforts) – I enjoy your easy-on-the-ear, down to earth style. I think there may be a book in this sometime.
    Love, Dad

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sarah M on August 14, 2012 at 7:56 am

    Amen to Mike’s comment Beth – a book!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel on August 22, 2012 at 5:34 am

    Three times since moving to the states Miriam has complained about the sweetness (once the saltiness) of the food… So I guess I’m doing a good job with her. Charles on the other hand would eat saltines and chocolate for every meal if I let him… Oliver for the moment just loves to taste things, and that’s about all he can do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

