Let them Eat Vegan: Curried almond dressing meets “mmmm” Sauce

Some things really do not photograph well. Date paste is one of them. Lentil pate. This dressing appears to also fall into that category.

I told my sister I was going to try every recipe in the book she gave me, over a period of time, obviously. You would think I had never seen a vegan recipe book before…..though this is the only one I have been gifted (the rest I have stolen from my mum’s shelves) I have been given permission by Dreena Burton, (click to visit her website) the lovely authoress (?) to print “a few” of the recipes. So, I figure I have to choose them carefully to spread plant love while optimising possibilities of conversion to plant power. This is definitely a fantastic recipe, though because it is quite similar to a sauce called “Mmmm sauce” on another blog called “Peas and Thank you“, I have decided to blend the two recipes into one, and thus, technically, this does not count as one of my reproduced recipes, but does happen to be one very  tasty dressing.

NOTES

  • Peas and Thank You recipe uses almonds and chickpeas, and Let them Eat Vegan uses only unroasted almonds. I decided to use chickpeas for extra protein, fibre, B vitamins and fill-factor.
  • I did not use sweetener (the Dreena Burton calls for it) so I reduced the acidity levels a touch
  • Soak your almonds overnight.
  • I soaked a generous 1/2 cup of almonds which became 1 cup once soaked! Now that’s good news for those who are trying to be thrifty. (me)
  • I added 2T of oil (1 recipe calls for oil, the other does not) although to be sure, I am not sure why. It makes for a slightly silkier texture but if you want whole-food fats only, you could just add a touch more water.
  • Between the two recipes there were a few things I did not add (dijon mustard and fresh grated ginger in one, dried cilantro and dried oregano in the other)
  • Nutritional yeast is from the Peas and Thank You version, and is optional.
  • Dreena Burtons calls for much less curry powder, but I love it….
  • Dressing thickens on refrigeration. Could be a great dip.
  • Serve over salad, steamed veggies, brown rice, coleslaw, whatever you choose…….
  • In short, this is list is getting long. Follow the recipe, and tweak till you love it. More curry? More salt? more acidity? punchier? sweeter? Whatever you choose to do, I think this recipe is a definite keeper.

Let Them Eat Vegan/Peas and Thank you Hybrid:

  • 1 cup unroasted almonds soaked  overnight, and drained (1/2 cup, very full, should become almost a cup once soaked)
  • 1 cup of cooked chickpeas (freeze the rest, or throw on a salad or in soup, or whizz in a dip)
  • 2T lemon juice or white vinegar (eg white wine, rice, apple cider) Add an extra 0.5Tablespoon if you like it zingier
  • 1 small garlic clove, chopped
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3/4t curry powder
  • 2 Tablespoons oil (optional?)
  • 1 Tablespoon nutritional yeast…or more..so yummy (optional?)
  • 3/4 cup water, a touch more if your blender is struggling

Blend till it is as smooth as you can possibly get it, taste, tweak, and serve. Supposedly all the kids of both these ladies love these sauce. Mine did not…..Oh well. All the more for me.

yep. It is indeed “mmmm”….

One response to this post.

  1. Looks tasty! I will have to make that soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

