Warming date and apricot quinoa

I was running the food down for a trip away and I slightly mis-timed it….so there I was with an empty fruit bowl and fridge (read- almost entire kitchen) …..the kids had pancakes (hurrah for egg-less spelt pancake recipes, and frozen berries!) I decided to do a little experimentation for myself….I would have happily had pancakes but I turned around and they were gone. The cheek!

So here was my experiment..

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 3.5  cups water, or more if needed during cooking
  • 4-5 dates, snipped
  • 4-5 dried apricots snipped
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ginger
  • 2 teaspoons honey (if you have quality, unheated farmers market type honey, stir it in at the end, once cooked, for maximum benefits)

 

Quinoa cooks in about 20 minutes at a medium simmer- follow pack instructions. It is a seed-grain. You know…a seed, that seems like a grain. It is a very rich source of protein and a favourite among vegetarian food bloggers 🙂 It is a slightly different texture to couscous, and very pleasant in a fluffy kind of way. It was a mild flavour, that most bloggers describe as “nutty” in the same way that everything else “tastes like chicken”! 😀

 

Top with chopped almonds (unroasted, or slightly toasted if you wish) and some extra honey or maple syrup if you want it a little sweeter.

 

I don’t know if it tastes “nutty” but I did enjoy it immensesly. And just what I needed to begin this chilly month of September.

 

when beige is not Beige.

 

However!! I am so happy that I will be eating fresh figs, watermelon and massive big peaches for breakfast next week!!

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel on September 1, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Vais al pueblo? Yo hecho de menos a higos frescos del arbol… 😦
    No habían madurado y ya nos fuimos del pueblo para USA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

