notquiteBettyCrocker: Avocado Chocolate Frosting

You have GOT to try this to believe it! It is sooo chocolatey-silky smooth and fatty, as a good chocolate frosting should be 🙂  It really does NOT taste of avocado. Of course these fats are health-nurturing fats, and as I mentioned in the avocado piece, you can do amazing things with a ripe avocado And here is one to add to the list.

To start with, you need  a food processor or a mini chopper. Take one large avocado, perfectly ripe and soft. Now it’s just the balancing act of unsweetened cocoa powder and sweetener, whichever one you get on with. I like it with unpasteurised honey, I know people that do it with maple syrup, agave nectar, and other forms of dry sugar. That is down to personal taste/dietary habits, though of course, not all of them are as good for you as others. But hey…. It’s avocado frosting!

My recipe uses the following:

  • 1 large, ripe avocado
  • 20 grams cocoa (1/8 cup)
  • 70grams sweetener of choice

Insert into food processor. I am aware of how wierd this looks….

 

 

 

 

 

 

But look what happens once you have whizzed it:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Despite 70grams sounding like quite a bit of sweetener, this tastes sweet in a dark kind of way, which is how I like it (we’ll see if the girls do! I may need to doctor it a tiny bit) If you prefer it sweeter, well, just sweeten it up a bit. I repeat, it DOES NOT TASTE OF AVOCADO. (Update. I sweetened mine up, after all)

The texture is, quite frankly , glorious. You could eat this as a chocolate mousse and I know plenty of people do. (With orange zest and a squeeze of juice in addition, I bet it is heavenly!)

Note: May look classier if not in an Ikea bowl. But check out that texture!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By the way, this is to be filed under Recipes that Sound Really Wierd, but Really Work (Honestly) , along with this one- dessert hummous. And of course, I cannot take the credit for either one.But wow, I am happy when people make these little discoveries!

This is going on top of a chocolate cake that I have tried previously, which is really delicious, and the children loved it too. It is wholewheat (when I bake it, anyway) not as high in sugar as most cakes, pretty low fat (it uses some vegetable oil) and it has no eggs in, and despite everything I have just said, it is really light and moist. The recipe is here.

I will post a photo of the whole cake tomorrow. It’s my birthday cake 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Beth you come up with the neatest ideas for loading nutrition in your family’s diet. Once again. I will be trying this recipe.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Beth on September 9, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I got the idea on the internet.I do hope you like it! I forgot to mention that if you choose to sweeten it with regular dry sugar, eg cane sugar, grind it in a little spice grinder until powdery and white, otherwise you will have gritty frosting! If you do prefer to use dry sugar,it is preferable to do this than to use a more refined,white powdered sugar.

    Reply

Leave a comment